Sometimes the wind…

Sometimes the wind makes it hard to sleep. We have a loose bit of something knocking against the bedroom side of the house, so I hear this clank-clank-clank all night long.

But sitting here and looking through NetHymnal for something nice to drown out the wind and the clank-clank-clank, I’m comforted knowing there’s so much song in the world. I try to raise my voice every day, not in anger but in song. I raise my voice and I raise my heart — I am lifted up by an invisible hand. There is no wind in the world that can steal me from that hand. Even though it’s 4:39, I can think in a raised voice, and it raises my heart, and I find that hand coming to hold me safe.

Leave a Reply

